# Chesapeake Bay Program Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee Membership

Current Membership 38 Members, 2 Alternates

Maximum Membership 38 Members, 11 Alternates

#### STAC Chairs

Elected for a two-year term by the members of STAC from among their membership

## Member

#### Term End Date (Through Executive Service)

Larry Sanford (Chair) September 2027 University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES)

Bill Dennison (Vice Chair)September 2029University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES)

#### State Appointees (7 out of 8 filled)

The Governors of Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Virginia and the Mayor of the District of Columbia each make two appointments (four-year term or until replaced). Each member may designate one alternative to serve in his/her absence.

(Executive Board member: EB)

	<u>Member</u>	<u>Alternate</u>	<u>Term End Date</u>
District of Columbia	Efeturi Oghenekaro DC DOEE	Open	Ongoing
	Amir Sharifi DC DOEE	Open	Ongoing
Maryland	Bill Dennison (EB, VC) UMCES	Open	Ongoing
	Craig Beyrouty UMD	Open	Ongoing
Pennsylvania	Shirley Clark PSU	Ben Hayes Bucknell University	Ongoing
	Erin Letavic (EB) Herbert, Rowland, & Grubic	Ben Hayes Bucknell University	Ongoing

Virginia	Ellen Gilinsky (EB) Ellen Gilinsky, LLC	Open	Ongoing
	Kirk Havens VIMS	Open	March 2024

## Headwater State Appointees (3 out of 3 filled)

The Governors of West Virginia, New York, and Delaware may each make one appointment (four-year term or until replaced). Each member may designate one alternative to serve in his/her absence. (Executive Board member: EB)

	<u>Member</u>	<u>Alternate</u>	<u>Term End Date</u>
West Virginia	Jason Hubbart West Virginia University	Open	Ongoing
New York	Weixing Zhu SUNY Binghamton	Katharine Bunting-Howarth NY Sea Grant	Ongoing
Delaware	Christopher Brosch DE Dept. of Agriculture	Open	Ongoing

## Federal Appointees (6 out of 6 filled)

The Director of the Chesapeake Bay Program appoints six federal scientists to serve on STAC for fouryear renewable terms. Federal appointees may serve no more than two consecutive terms (4 years each), unless completing Executive Service.

(Executive Board member: EB)

\* Indicates members serving a second term as a Federal Appointee

	Member	<u>Term End Date</u>
1.	Anthony Buda* U.S. Department of Agriculture Agricultural Research Service (USDA-ARS)	December 2026
2.	Mark Monaco (EB)* National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science (NOAA-NCCOS)	Term through Executive Service
3.	Gregory Noe* U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)	December 2026
4.	Michael Runge (EB)* U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)	December 2026

5.	Leon Tillman	September 2025
	U.S. Department of Agriculture	
	Natural Resources Conservation Service (USDA-NRCS)	

Emily Trentacoste
 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA)

December 2027

## At-Large Appointees (21 out of 21 filled)

STAC can elect twenty-one at-large scientists to 'round out' the areas of expertise of membership and increase diversity. Term length is four years. At-large appointees can serve no more than two consecutive terms (8 years) unless fulfilling executive service. (Executive Board member: EB)

\* Indicates members serving a second term as an At-Large appointee.

	Member	Term End Date
1.	Matthew Baker University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)	September 2027
2.	Kathleen Boomer (EB)* Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research (FFAR)	September 2025 Executive Service
3.	Charles Bott Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD)	September 2027
4.	R. John Dawes The Commons	September 2027
5.	Celso Ferreira George Mason University (GMU)	March 2026
6.	Katherine (KC) Filippino Hampton Roads Planning District Commission (HRPDC)	September 2027
7.	Kathy DeBusk Gee Longwood University	September 2027
8.	Jennifer (Jeni) Keisman U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)	March 2026
9.	Christine Kirchhoff Pennsylvania State University (PSU)	September 2027
10.	Scott Knoche (EB)* Morgan State, Patuxent Environmental & Aquatic Research Laboratory	March 2026 (PEARL)

11. Ellen Kohl University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)	March 2026
12. Yusuke Kuwayama University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)	September 2027
13. Theodore Lim Virginia Tech (VT)	September 2027
14. David Martin The Nature Conservancy (TNC)	March 2026
15. Leah Palm-Forster (EB)* University of Delaware (UD)	September 2027
16. Joseph Reustle Hampton University	September 2027
17. Kenneth Rose* University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES)	December 2026
<ol> <li>Larry Sanford (EB, C)*</li> <li>University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES)</li> </ol>	September 2027 Executive Service
19. Tess Thompson* Virginia Tech (VT)	September 2025
20. Valerie Were Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere (CIRA)	September 2027
21. Joseph Wood Chesapeake Bay Foundation (CBF)	September 2027

## STAC Executive Secretary

A designee of the organization contracted to support STAC; the appointment is subject to approval by the Director of the Chesapeake Bay Program

Denice Wardrop Chesapeake Research Consortium (CRC) / Pennsylvania State University (PSU)

Revised: February 26, 2024