

Acknowledgments

Bill Dennison (UMCES) provided the impetus for the Conference and it is through his passion that it was convened. The steering committee and attendees are indebted to Bill's enthusiasm. The Conference could not have been held without the active participation of the steering committee, including Bill Dennison, Heather Lane, and Jane Thomas (UMCES), Zoe Johnson, Audra Luscher, and Mark Trice (MD DNR), Doug Wilson (NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office), and Kate Hopkins (U.S. EPA). Adrian Jones (UMCES) thoroughly covered website construction and updates. Kernel Ries and Bob Shedlock (USGS) and Dave Jasinski (U.S. EPA) provided occasional but valued input.

The fiscal contributions of many organizations were instrumental in undertaking the Conference. In addition to the organizations represented by the individuals above, the Virginia Institute of Marine Sciences and Dr. Roger Mann; the VA and MD Chesapeake Bay National Estuarine Research Reserves under Willy Reay and Bob Finton, respectively; MD DNR's Laura Younger; USGS and Scott Phillips; U.S. EPA and Rich Batiuk; and the Campbell Foundation and Verna Harrison are all acknowledged.

Numerous individuals assisted at the Conference and their contributions are deeply appreciated: MD DNR's S. Heelen, A. Gularte, A. Hardy-Campo, and M. Conley; CRC Fellows S. Brandt, S. Weammert, and A. Zimmerman; UMCES' staff T. Carruthers; and the Maritime Institute's staff.

Conference speakers and poster presenters who were unable to provide manuscripts but whose contributions (with their co-authors) and comments were critical to the Conference's success include: E. Bradley, I. Clark, M. Cohoon, D. Guignet, C. Heyer, C. Landry, S. Leatherman, F. McKenzie, K. Miller, R. Orth, A. Scott, W. Shaffer, J. Sokich, S. Taylor, M. Whilden, A. Williams, and L. Zhong.

Finally, the manuscripts were all peer reviewed and the following individuals committed substantial time in assisting in the review process. Thank you! M.B. Adams, J. Aiosa, B.L. Appleton, H. Austin, C. Blain, K. Blankenship, B. Blanton, A. Brandt, R. Chant, R. Dean, Q. Dortch, L. Eby, T.J. Evens, T. Fisher, C. Friedrichs, C. Gallegos, D. Gorchov, J. Greer, T. Gross, J. Halka, K. Havens, K. Hess, C. Jones, T. Jordan, S. Kaufman, J. Klinck, J. Landsberg, L. Lanerolle, C. Larsen, R. Latour, A. Lewitus, J. List, S. Lohrenz, A. Luckenbach, R. Luettich, D. Millie, K. Moore, M. Naylor, E. Oernolfsdottir, G. Parker, R. Perkinson, P. Robertson, W. Roosenburg, L. Sanford, S. Seagle, D. Secor, A. Siebers, P. Tester, M. Tsidulko, P. Wilcock, and K. Zhang.

